Mistakes Were Made: a comedic romance

Rated 5.00 out of 5 based on 2 customer ratings
(13 customer reviews)

Mistakes Were Made is a modern romance of comedy, love, and friendship set in a most unusual location. More Bridget Jones Diary than 50 Shades of Grey, this is a great book to enjoy during your vacation on the beach or hanging out on the couch.

You can also purchase your copy of Mistakes Were Made:a comedic romance on:
Amazon.com ($13.99 trade paperback, $4.99 for your Kindle). Amazon is currently the only location to purchase an e-book. Please contact Silurian Press if you have any questions.
– Available via independent bookstores

Jules is greywater plumber staying at a recovery center after breaking both her ankles in an accident. She discovers a handsome man performing beguiling dances outside the building and becomes obsessed. Her new friends are not so sure that the dancer has her best interests at heart.

Categories: , Tags: , ,

Description

Mistakes Were Made: a comedic romance is the first book in the Greywater Chronicles published by Silurian Press. This romantic comedy is full of laughter, friendship, and only a few tears.

At first she thought her drugs were causing hallucinations. But the dance was weirder than anything she could hallucinate. There was nothing overtly sexual about any of his dance moves or flourishes and it only lasted a few minutes, but his confidence and panache were riveting. Jules could not tear her eyes away. She refused to imagine he was entertaining a girlfriend, but was unable to come up with a plausible explanation for his performance.

Taylor Rush is published by Silurian Press.

Friendship. Love. Interpretive dance. Mistakes Were Made: a comedic romance is a light-hearted romp through the trials and travails of finding love in the most unusual places. Perfect for a vacation or lazy weekend, Mistakes Were Made is a romantic comedy for all of us. More Bridget Jones Diary than 50 Shades of Grey, adult readers of all ages will enjoy the adventures of Jules and her friends.

Jules Martin finds herself at the Misty Forests Recovery Center after breaking both her ankles in an accident. Despite being a grown woman, Jules struggles to find her way. Misty Forests is unexpectedly similar to summer camp – which is both fun and horrifying.

One day while hiding in her room, she spies a man dancing his heart out on the grounds of Misty Forests. Jules is immediately obsessed with this welcome diversion. As she begins to make friends with older residents and staff, Jules keeps her fantasies about the dancer to herself. Nonetheless, Jules is on a collision course with this mysterious stranger.

“At first she thought her drugs were causing hallucinations. But the dance was weirder than anything she could hallucinate. There was nothing overtly sexual about any of his dance moves or flourishes and it only lasted a few minutes, but his confidence and panache were riveting. Jules could not tear her eyes away. She refused to imagine he was entertaining a girlfriend, but was unable to come up with a plausible explanation for his performance.”

Romance and stories about friendship that make us laugh

This romantic comedy is full of humorous encounters between friends and lovers. The ensemble of characters is reminiscent of the friendships from Sex and the City or How I Met Your Mother. Love is in the air, and Jules and her friends (young and old) support each other. With only a few exceptions, her new friends are delighted to show her around Misty Forests and help her find her way. Her friend Martha is always there for her, even making sure she gets her favorite sandwich.

Readers looking for an enjoyable chicklit novel with romance and friendship will love Mistakes Were Made.

Romantic comedy in Portland

Set in Portland, Oregon in the near future, the silliest moments involve misunderstandings and the secrets that can trip up the best of us. The future has sadly not brought any amazing solutions to the humorous mistakes we all make, but everything is also proceeding more or less as expected. Characters vacation at the beach, shop at the mall, watch Downton Abbey, and accidentally insult each other.

While Mistakes Were Made could be set in any modern city, readers who are familiar with Portland will enjoy spotting references to landmarks, parks, and restaurants. Misty Forests itself, however, does not yet exist.

Best humorous fiction for fans of chick lit

In the tradition of Nora Ephron and Jane Austen, Mistakes Were Made laughs with the foibles of the characters and pokes fun at the things we all take too seriously. While Jules is in the midst of a love story (with a happy ending), this romance novel isn’t too much of a fairy tale. People still fall down (and fall off things), and don’t always live up to their best selves. But Jules and her friends always pick themselves up and try again.

Love stories for your vacation at the beach or on the couch

Whether you’re looking for a good book for the summer or a cozy read for the weekend, this romantic comedy has got you covered. You’ll love the opportunity to escape to a humorous world of multi-generational friendships and delicious love stories. This fun summer read hits all the key requirements for vacation: laughter, love, and friendship. Jules and her friends might mess up, but their intentions are almost always good.

Mistakes Were Made: a comedic romance is the first book in the Greywater Chronicles published by Silurian Press.

Additional information

Type of book

Digital, Print, Audio

13 reviews for Mistakes Were Made: a comedic romance

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    Super fun read! Full of vibrant characters that I want to hang out with. And in some cases, make out with. Hubba hubba. I can’t wait for part two – not just to see the development of other likeable characters from this book, but also to catch glimpses of my now favorite plumber in the future and learn if she indeed made the right choice!!

  2. Perfect mix of drama, comedy and romance.

    Great summer read! I’m now totally into the world of the characters and can’t wait to see how the next piece unfolds. Perfect for a stay at the beach, or lounging poolside, I stayed up late because I couldn’t bear to put it down!

  3. Loved this book! Lost some sleep because once I started I couldn’t put it down. Can’t wait to read the next book!

  4. Five stars

    Really fun read with a few twists that were genuinely surprising. Looking forward to the sequel.

  5. Delightful read with characters I found absolutely believable. This would be a great setting for a tv series.

  6. Five stars

    Great book, thanks to Taylor Rush!

  7. I really enjoyed the Taylor Rush novel “Mistakes Were Made”. The bold heroine will appeal to a wide variety of men and women. She’s flawed but gutsy and very likeable. If you know metropolitan Portland, you’ll have fun recognizing places where the story unfolds. It’s a funny, fast-moving and entertaining read and lives up to its subtitle of a “comedic romance”.

  8. Rated 5 out of 5

    Jules romantic adventures in a rehab facility kept me engaged, definitely made me smile, then laugh, and by the end desirous of the next installment. The personalities Taylor Rush creates are quirky but at the same time real enough for you to effortlessly go for the ride. Totally enjoyable.

  9. I’m rooting for Jules! The main character is insightful and funny, and seeing the world of Misty Forests through her eyes is great fun. I can’t wait to see what happens next…

  10. Just finished “Mistakes Were Made.” I found the characters compelling, especially Jules and Sue. I am looking forward to “The Five Year Plan” and perhaps a facet of Sam I hadn’t considered (?).

  11. Thoroughly Entertaining.

    Charming and fun! If you are looking for a great book to snuggle up with in the quiet hours of your day or night, then look no further. I fell in love with the protagonist Jules and became completely enthralled with her self-possessed, snarky wit.

  12. Pure Comedy!

    Taylor Rush’s skillful use of dialogue and the unique setting of her debut novel, Mistakes Were Made, combine for an endlessly flowing fountain of comedic fun. It’s like the Grumpy Old Men were women and walked into One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Pure party!

  13. A fun romantic romp (I never get to use that word) for readers who may not usually think of themselves as up for a fun romantic romp! This book is filled with unique characters, a little mystery, a good number of laughs — and no treacle. I really enjoyed reading a book where so many of the characters reminded me of real people, people I know, with their own goofball humor, insecurities, and awkward moments. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a fast, funny, enjoyable read and wants something treacle-free out of the ordinary (where else are you going to read about a female greywater plumber protagonist? Nowhere, that’s where.).

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *